Records of Ammanford Urban District Council, Carmarthenshire, including UDC minute books, ledgers, wage books and rate books, 1903-1974; records of Ammanford Town Council, 1974-1991; and financial records, 1903-1974.
Ammanford Urban District Council and Ammanford Town Council Records
- This material is held at
- ReferenceGB 211 AMMANFORD UDC
- Dates of Creation1903-1991
- Name of Creator
- Language of MaterialEnglish
- Physical DescriptionInformation to be supplied
- Direct Link
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
Urban district councils were established under the Local Government Act 1894. The first meeting of Ammanford District Council was held on the 11 May 1903. Prior to that the town was offically known as Cross Inn. Ammanford Urban District Council was abolished and Ammanford Town Council came into existence in 1974.
Arranged into the following: records of Ammanford Urban District Council; records of Ammanford Town Council; financial records of Ammanford Urban District Council; Llandilo-fawr Assessment Committee, parish of Ammanford Urban.
Conditions Governing Access
Deposited in 1993 and by Ammanford Town Council, in 1998.
Compiled by Annette Strauch for ANW. The following sources were used in the compilation of this description: Carmarthenshire Archives Service, Catalogue of Ammanford Urban District Council and Ammanford Town Council records; website UK Local Government Information (www.gwydir.demon.co.uk), viewed 23 September 2002.
Other Finding Aids
A hard copy of the finding aid is available at Carmarthenshire Archies Service.
Conditions Governing Use
Usual copyright regulations apply.
All records have been retained
Stored in a small room in Ammanford Town Hall
Accruals are not expected