Society records of the Methodist Church, York, Burton Stone Lane Primitive Methodist Chapel

Scope and Content

Plan of proposed schoolroom and classrooms, [c.1901]; receipt from Primitive Methodist Chapel Aid Association for the deeds of the chapel, 1931.

Administrative / Biographical History

The chapel on Haughton Road, off Burton Stone Lane, York, began life as a Primitive Methodist Chapel on Haughton Road in 1901. The chapel, which could accommodate up to 200 people, comprised one large chapel room and two classrooms and was build at a cost of £1,100.

It was initially part of the York First Circuit of the Primitive Methodist Connexion, renamed the Monkgate Circuit in 1903. Following the unification of the Wesleyan, Primitive and United Methodist churches in 1932, it remained in use, becoming part of the new Monkgate Circuit of the Methodist Church of Great Britain from 1934. The chapel was still in active use in 1955.

In 1957 the Monkgate and Clifton Circuits amalgamated to form the new Clifton & Monkgate Circuit (also known as Trinity Circuit). This became York, North Circuit, from 1981, although Burton Stone Lane Chapel would appear to have closed by this date.

Conditions Governing Access

Records are open to the public, subject to the overriding provisions of relevant legislation, including data protection laws. 24 hours' notice is required to access photographic material.

Acquisition Information

The archive was deposited at the Borthwick Institute in the 1980s.

Note

The chapel on Haughton Road, off Burton Stone Lane, York, began life as a Primitive Methodist Chapel on Haughton Road in 1901. The chapel, which could accommodate up to 200 people, comprised one large chapel room and two classrooms and was build at a cost of £1,100.

It was initially part of the York First Circuit of the Primitive Methodist Connexion, renamed the Monkgate Circuit in 1903. Following the unification of the Wesleyan, Primitive and United Methodist churches in 1932, it remained in use, becoming part of the new Monkgate Circuit of the Methodist Church of Great Britain from 1934. The chapel was still in active use in 1955.

In 1957 the Monkgate and Clifton Circuits amalgamated to form the new Clifton & Monkgate Circuit (also known as Trinity Circuit). This became York, North Circuit, from 1981, although Burton Stone Lane Chapel would appear to have closed by this date.

Other Finding Aids

A typescript finding aid, to file level, is available for consultation in the searchroom of the Borthwick Institute.

Archivist's Note

Created by S. A. Shearn, 16.11.16.

Conditions Governing Use

A reprographics service is available to researchers subject to the access restrictions outlined above. Copying will not be undertaken if there is any risk of damage to the document. Copies are supplied in accordance with the Borthwick Institute for Archives' terms and conditions for the supply of copies, and under provisions of any relevant copyright legislation. Permission to reproduce images of documents in the custody of the Borthwick Institute must be sought.

Accruals

Further accruals are not expected.

Related Material

Circuit records for the York First (Monkgate) Circuit of the Primitive Methodist Connexion and the York, Monkgate Circuit of the Methodist Connexion are also deposited at the Borthwick Institute. These form a single archive: Records of the Methodist Church, York (Monkgate) Circuit.

Additional Information

Published

GB193