The collection consists of photographs taken in 1973.
Anderson-Grice Co Ltd Carnoustie
- This material is held at
- ReferenceGB 254 MS 314
- Dates of Creation1973
- Name of Creator
- Language of MaterialEnglish
- Physical Description0.01 linear metres
- Digital Materials
Photograph of Taymouth Works
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
Anderson-Grice Co. Ltd was founded by George Anderson, the owner of the Arbroath Foundry in Dickfield Street, Arbroath. Andersons main products related to quarrying which was a major industry in Angus at this time. In around 1886, Anderson began to relocate his business to Carnoustie. The new premises were the former Taymouth Linen Works, a larger site and one which was located next to the Dundee and Arbroath Joint Railway. The move was completed by 1898.In 1902 Arthur Grice became a partner in the company. The main products of the company were varieties of cutting machinery, but they also produced a variety of other mechanical devices including cranes and the Dalhousie motor car (1906 to 1910).
Records are arranged chronologically within series.
Open for consultation subject to preservation requirements. Access must also conform to the restrictions of the Data Protection Act and any other appropriate legislation.
Other Finding Aids
Descriptive list. Subject source lists and databases are also available.
Alternative Form Available
No known copies.
Physical Characteristics and/or Technical Requirements
The records are photographs.
Fonds level description compiled by Kenneth Baxter, Archives Assistant, July 2010.
Conditions Governing Use
Reproduction is available subject to preservation requirements. Charges are made for this service, and copyright and other restrictions may apply.
Location of Originals
The material is original.
Sources: http://www.angus.gov.uk/history/archives/gems/MS671-AndersonGrice.htm accessed 27/07/10