National Coal Board Colliery Tip Plans

Scope and Content

Plans relating to Aberpergwm Tip, 1969-1981, Blaengwrach Tip, 1980, Cefn Coed Colliery spoil heap, 1987, Hendy Merthyr Colliery tip, 1975, and Margam Colliery tipping areas, 1979.

Administrative / Biographical History

The National Coal Board (NCB) was set up under the Coal Nationalisation Act 1946. From 1 January 1947 it had sole responsibility for managing the British coal industry. In its administrative organisation the NCB was divided geographically. The collieries of the former county of West Glamorgan lay within the South Wales Area. The NCB became British Coal in 1986 and was dissolved in 1994.


Arranged into the following: Aberpergwm Tip; Blaengwrach Tip; Cefn Coed Colliery spoil heap; Hendy Merthyr Colliery tip; Margam Colliery.

Access Information

No restrictions

Acquisition Information

It is the policy of the West Glamorgan Archive Service to withhold the names of depositors.


Compiled by Rhys Jones for the ANW project. The following source was used in the compilation of this description: West Glamorgan Archive Service, Colliery tip plans.

Other Finding Aids

Hard copies of the catalogue are available at West Glamorgan Archive Service.

Conditions Governing Use

Usual copyright regulations apply.

Appraisal Information

Information not available


Accruals are not expected