CMA: Records of Christchurch English Presbyterian Church, Barmouth

Scope and Content

The fonds comprises a register of communicants and children, 1895-1918, and treasurer's books, 1877-1878 and 1895-1952.

Administrative / Biographical History

Christchurch was formed as a separate English church in 1877, but English services had already been held previously at Caersalem Welsh Presbyterian Church and at the Assembly Rooms in St Anne's Square, Barmouth. The new church was built in 1878, and the first pastor was R. H. Morgan, who remained there until 1887. Further land was purchased for a Sunday school in 1897. A centenary celebration took place in 1977.

Arrangement

Arranged into two series: communicants' register and treasurer's books.

Access Information

Readers consulting modern papers in the National Library of Wales are required to sign the 'Modern papers - data protection' form.

Acquisition Information

Deposited by Mr Alun Williams, Cil-y-Coed, Ffordd Ty'n Coed, Dolgellau, March 2000.

Note

Christchurch was formed as a separate English church in 1877, but English services had already been held previously at Caersalem Welsh Presbyterian Church and at the Assembly Rooms in St Anne's Square, Barmouth. The new church was built in 1878, and the first pastor was R. H. Morgan, who remained there until 1887. Further land was purchased for a Sunday school in 1897. A centenary celebration took place in 1977.

Other Finding Aids

A hard copy of the list is available in CMA: Records of Welsh Chapels in NLW 2001-.

Archivist's Note

April 2002

Compiled by Hilary A. Peters.

The following sources were used in the compilation of this description: NLW Facs 781; Welsh Calvinistic Methodist Union Annual Reports.

Conditions Governing Use

Usual copyright laws apply.

Accruals

Accruals are possible.

Related Material

Annual reports, 1911 and 1926-1927, of Christchurch English Presbyterian Church, Barmouth, are at NLW; records are also held at the Gwynedd Archive Service, Dolgellau.

Additional Information

Published