Includes an admission register 1867–1893 [P71/8/1]; school log books 1871–1928 [P71/8/2–4]; managers' records [P71/8/5–7]; financial records [P71/8/8–13]; site, property, and fabric records [P71/8/14–30]; inspections [P71/8/31]; schemes of instruction [P71/8/32]; Education Department circulars [P71/8/33]; Board of Education papers [P71/8/34–35]; publicity [P71/8/36]; and papers concerning Bramley Church of England School [P71/8/37–44].
Braithwell Church of England School
- For more information, email the repository
- Advice on accessing these materials
- Cite this description
- This material is held at
- ReferenceGB 197 P71/8
- Dates of Creation1867-1961
- Physical Description1 bundle, 52 items [?], 8 volumes
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
This was originally known as Town School until 1871, when a new school was built and the old school building was converted into the schoolmaster's house. The new school was then known as the National School, so called because of its support from the National Society for the Education of Children in the Principals of the Church of England.
The National School was closed in 1928 when West Riding County Council built a new council school. The school trustees continued to administer the school charity lands and endowments until 1961 and the old school building, called the Church School House was used as a sunday school and parish hall.
Access will be granted to any member of Doncaster Libraries