A collection of deeds and other legal documents relating to property in Anglesey. Includes documents relating to the Tre'r gof estate in the parishes of Llanbadrig and Llanfechell (1631-1818); Ffron ddu and Neuadd in Llanrhwydrys (1776-1829); Clegyrog and Clegyrog ganol in the parish of Llanbadrig. Also contains some Amlwch Shipping accounts, which list William Williams as shareholder (1822-1824); and an abstract of title of Sir Richard Williams Burkeley, forming part of the Baron Hill estate, (1891).
Anglesey Property Deeds
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
The Tre'r gof estate in the parishes of Llanbadrig and Llanfechell, Anglesey, was held in the tenure of the Gray family in the sixteenth and seventeenth centuries. John Edward Griffith indicates in his Pedigrees of Anglesey and Caernarvonshire Families (1914) that this family was descended from John Gray of Shropshire, whose great grandson, Sir Hugh Gray was vicar of Llanbadrig, ca. 1546.
Later, in the nineteenth century Tre'r gof was held by the Broadhead family. The Broadheads also held property at Ffron ddu in the parish of Llanrhwydrys, Anglesey. Some family members who feature in this collection include, Richard Broadhead who was married to Martha, ca. 1801 and Catherine Broadhead, who died in 1819. Catherine's son and heir was a shareholder in Amlwch Shipping, in the mid 1820's.
Material is arranged according to location, then in chronological order and incorporated into the General Collection of Bangor Manuscripts .
Conditions Governing Access
Open to all users
Description compiled by Anne Lenaghan, December 2001.
Other Finding Aids
Item level word-processed list is available at the Archives Department of the University of Wales, Bangor. Reference numbers: General Collection of Bangor Manuscripts: 17092-17134A
Conditions Governing Use
Usual copyright conditions apply. Reprographics are made at the discretion of the Archivist.