Peter Anderson Ltd., Woollen Textile Manufacturer, Galashiels

  • This material is held at
  • Reference
      GB 582 HWUA PA
  • Dates of Creation
      1874 - 1946
  • Language of Material
  • Physical Description
      ca. 90 files and outsized volumes, c. 11 linear metres; Pattern Books contain fabric samples

Scope and Content

Records of Internal Administration; Records of Production; Records of Pattern Design; Sales Records; Records of Marketing and Public Relations; Records of Relations with external bodies.

Administrative / Biographical History

Peter Anderson was born in Galashiels, was educated locally and at the age of 12 entered into the towns traditional woollen industry. Over the next 21 years, he rose to the position of designer, and in 1892 set up his own small weaving shop behind the West United Free Church in the High Street. In 1896 he moved to larger premises in Roxburgh Street. In 1907 he bought Huddersfield Mill, and renamed it Bridge Mill. This mill had 12 water powered looms, and due to continued success, Anderson could buy new Dobcross looms in 1919. New buildings and a modern water turbine followed. In 1931, he assumed his two sons Lewis and Thomas as partners. Lewis was a former student of the Scottish Woollen Technical College [predecessor to Heriot-Watt University Scottish Borders Campus]. In 1945, Peter Anderson died aged 86, and Lewis and Thomas took over the business. Thomas died in 1960. In 1962, Lewis sold control of the company to John Morris Buchan, of Lochcarron, a business which itself could trace roots back to the 1930s, and from 1984 opened the Woollen Textile Museum in Galashiels. The name of Peter Anderson was maintained as a symbol of quality for goods exported to certain markets in Europe and the Far East.


Records are arranged chronologically by type following classification scheme

Access Information

By appointment. Closure periods may apply to unpublished records less than 30 years old and other records containingpersonal information. Access to records in a fragile condition may be restricted.

Other Finding Aids

Printed list plus item level computerised list available in the Searchroom

Conditions Governing Use

Photocopies and photographic copies canbe supplied for educational use and private study purposesonly, depending on the condition of the documents. Permission to publish material from the Archive must be sought in advance from the University Archivist. Responsibility for obtaining copyright clearance rests with the applicant.

Custodial History

The records were first listed as part of the Archive by the Business Archives Council (Scotland) Surveying Officer in 1988 while in the High Mill. Following the merger of the Scottish College of Textiles with Heriot-Watt University in October 1998, responsibility for the collection was transferred to Heriot-Watt University Archive, Records Management and Museum Service. In September 2000, the Archive moved to the Main Building at the Scottish Borders Campus, Galashiels.

Related Material

The Lewis Anderson Tartan Collection (GB 0582 HWUA LA) held at the Scottish Borders Campus.


  • Galashiels; A Modern History,Galashiels History Committee and Ettrick and Lauderdale District Council 1983.