Society records of the Methodist Church, Nun Monkton Methodist Chapel

Scope and Content

Records of Trustees, including meeting minute book, 1928-1945, and treasurer's account book, 1900-1945; papers relating to building of new chapel and sale of old chapel and land, 1899-1900; papers relating to sale of chapel and investment of proceeds, 1945-1946.

Administrative / Biographical History

Nun Monkton was part of the Knaresborough Circuit of the Wesleyan Methodist Connexion from 1798. In 1826 a thatched cottage in the village was purchased by William Dodsworth and Mr Sayer, the village schoolmaster, to be the site of a permanent Methodist chapel.

The new chapel was paid for by subscription and was built to a plain square design. It was later renovated to include better insulation and heating, more comfortable seating and a small harmonium.

In 1892 the chapel was transferred to the York, Wesley Circuit of the Wesleyan Connexion and in 1899 the existing chapel was replaced by a new and more modern structure adjoining the village green, designed by Messrs Hornsey and Monkman.

Following the unification of the Primitive, Wesleyan and United Methodist churches in 1932, the York, Wesley and Victoria Bar Circuits were joined together and Nun Monkton continued as part of an enlarged York, Wesley Circuit of what was now a single Methodist Connexion.

The chapel was sold in 1945.

Conditions Governing Access

Records are open to the public, subject to the overriding provisions of relevant legislation, including data protection laws. 24 hours' notice is required to access photographic material.

Acquisition Information

The archive was deposited at the Borthwick Institute in the 1980s.

Note

Nun Monkton was part of the Knaresborough Circuit of the Wesleyan Methodist Connexion from 1798. In 1826 a thatched cottage in the village was purchased by William Dodsworth and Mr Sayer, the village schoolmaster, to be the site of a permanent Methodist chapel.

The new chapel was paid for by subscription and was built to a plain square design. It was later renovated to include better insulation and heating, more comfortable seating and a small harmonium.

In 1892 the chapel was transferred to the York, Wesley Circuit of the Wesleyan Connexion and in 1899 the existing chapel was replaced by a new and more modern structure adjoining the village green, designed by Messrs Hornsey and Monkman.

Following the unification of the Primitive, Wesleyan and United Methodist churches in 1932, the York, Wesley and Victoria Bar Circuits were joined together and Nun Monkton continued as part of an enlarged York, Wesley Circuit of what was now a single Methodist Connexion.

The chapel was sold in 1945.

Other Finding Aids

A typescript finding aid, to file level, is available for consultation in the searchroom of the Borthwick Institute.

Archivist's Note

Created by S. A. Shearn, 01.12.16.

Conditions Governing Use

A reprographics service is available to researchers subject to the access restrictions outlined above. Copying will not be undertaken if there is any risk of damage to the document. Copies are supplied in accordance with the Borthwick Institute for Archives' terms and conditions for the supply of copies, and under provisions of any relevant copyright legislation. Permission to reproduce images of documents in the custody of the Borthwick Institute must be sought.

Accruals

Further accruals are not expected.

Related Material

Circuit records for York, Wesley Circuits of both the Wesleyan Methodist Connexion and the single Methodist Connexion are deposited at the Borthwick Institute as a single archive (MRC/2).

Records of Knaresborough Methodist Circuit, which included Nun Monkton prior to 1892, are deposited at North Yorkshire Record Office (Reference: R/M/KN).

Additional Information

Published

GB193