Parish records of Newton upon Ouse

Scope and Content

Includes register of christenings, 1653-1913; register of marriages, 1653-1988, 1997-2012; register of burials, 1653-1858; register of banns, 1824-1964; register of services, 1893-1999; register of confirmations, 1892-1958; register of baptisms, 1913-1999; register of services at Linton on Ouse, 1893-1933; records concerning benefice income, including glebe farm papers, 1921-1943, and correspondence, 1924, 1944-1945, 1958; charity records, including accounts, 1893-1958, 1967, correspondence, 1896-1897, 1922-1923, and United Charities' papers, 1897-1985; churchwardens’ records, including accounts, 1777-1846, 1856-1892, 1939-1947, fabric papers, 1720, 1908-1986, churchyard papers, 1935-1988, and a photocopy of a drawing of the church, 1843; constables’ accounts, 1791-1855; records of incumbents, including papers relating to suspensions of presentation, 1961-1976, parsonage house papers, 1942, 1974, statistical returns, 1893-1896, incumbents' papers, 1985-1988, and service papers, 1960-1965; overseers’ accounts, 1780-1891; records concerning parish rooms and societies, including Cricket Club minutes of meetings and accounts, 1921-1933, village hall correspondence, 1976-1978, notes on Linton school/village hall, 1986, and a book from Linton on Ouse library titled ‘Cook's Voyage round the World’ (1851); school records, including managers' minutes of meetings, 1903-1956, accounts, 1907-1942, correspondence and papers, 1902, 1934-1936, 1976-1978, Church of England Primary School records, 1903-1989, and notes on Linton school/village hall, 1986; Vestry/Parochial Church Council records, including minutes of meetings, 1892-1994, accounts, 1912-1984, electoral rolls, c.1940-1970, papers relating to union of benefices, 1980-1982, magazines, 1896, 1911-1914, 1916-1917, 1919, 1922-1931, 1937-1940, correspondence and papers, 1919, 1936, 1957-1958, 1960-1983, household and farming accounts, 1778-1790, sale catalogue for Beningbrough hall and estate, 1916, list of Parochial Church Council members, 1981-1982, financial papers, 1966-1986, insurance papers, 1983-1985, and electoral papers, 1985-1986.

Administrative / Biographical History

There was a church at Newton on Ouse from at least the eleventh century. In 1089 it was given by Ralph Paynel to the priory of Holy Trinity, York. The priory subsequently quitclaimed their rights to William de Place who granted the church to St Leonard’s Hospital. It was appropriated to the hospital in 1314 and a vicarage was later ordained there.
St Leonard’s held the rectory and advowson until the Dissolution of the Monasteries in the sixteenth century, at which time they were granted to John Banester and descended with ownership of nearby Beningbrough. By the nineteenth century it was held by the Dawney family, Viscounts Downe, of Beningbrough Hall. The living was augmented in 1819 by parliamentary grant.
The earliest parts of the present parish church date to the twelfth century but the church was largely rebuilt in 1839 by William Dawney, 6th Viscount Downe, and University College, Oxford, and then rebuilt again in 1849 by architect George Townsend Andrews for the Hon. Lydia Dawney. A reredos was installed in 1892, carved by Temple Moore. The church is dedicated to All Saints.
Although the parish lies within the Diocese of York, the lords of the manor of Newton on Ouse with Beningbrough held peculiar jurisdiction there to grant probate until the nineteenth century.
The parish includes Beningbrough and Linton on Ouse. There was a chapel at Linton on Ouse in the thirteenth and fourteenth centuries, believed to have been a domestic chapel to Lord Roos of Hamlak, although no trace of it now remains..
Today the parish is part of the benefice of Skelton with Shipton and Newton on Ouse.

Access Information

Records are open to the public, subject to the overriding provisions of relevant legislation, including data protection laws. 24 hours' notice is required to access photographic material.

Acquisition Information

The archive was deposited at the Borthwick Institute in 1978. Further additions were made to the archive in 1979, 1982, 1983, 1986, 1987, 1989, 1997, 1998, 2000, 2001, 2009 and 2015.

Note

There was a church at Newton on Ouse from at least the eleventh century. In 1089 it was given by Ralph Paynel to the priory of Holy Trinity, York. The priory subsequently quitclaimed their rights to William de Place who granted the church to St Leonard’s Hospital. It was appropriated to the hospital in 1314 and a vicarage was later ordained there.
St Leonard’s held the rectory and advowson until the Dissolution of the Monasteries in the sixteenth century, at which time they were granted to John Banester and descended with ownership of nearby Beningbrough. By the nineteenth century it was held by the Dawney family, Viscounts Downe, of Beningbrough Hall. The living was augmented in 1819 by parliamentary grant.
The earliest parts of the present parish church date to the twelfth century but the church was largely rebuilt in 1839 by William Dawney, 6th Viscount Downe, and University College, Oxford, and then rebuilt again in 1849 by architect George Townsend Andrews for the Hon. Lydia Dawney. A reredos was installed in 1892, carved by Temple Moore. The church is dedicated to All Saints.
Although the parish lies within the Diocese of York, the lords of the manor of Newton on Ouse with Beningbrough held peculiar jurisdiction there to grant probate until the nineteenth century.
The parish includes Beningbrough and Linton on Ouse. There was a chapel at Linton on Ouse in the thirteenth and fourteenth centuries, believed to have been a domestic chapel to Lord Roos of Hamlak, although no trace of it now remains..
Today the parish is part of the benefice of Skelton with Shipton and Newton on Ouse.

Other Finding Aids

A typescript finding aid, to file level, is available for consultation in the searchroom of the Borthwick Institute. This includes all material received up to and including 2015.

Alternative Form Available

Selected records, including registers of christenings, 1653-1913, marriages, 1653-1978, burials, 1653-1858, and banns, 1824-1900, churchwardens' accounts, 1777-1846, constables' accounts, 1791-1855, overseers' of the poor account book, 1891, and Sam Boucher account book, 1775-1790, are also available on microfilm at the Borthwick Institute (References: MF 744, 1766-1767).

Archivist's Note

Created by S. A. Shearn, 29.02.16.

Conditions Governing Use

A reprographics service is available to researchers subject to the access restrictions outlined above. Copying will not be undertaken if there is any risk of damage to the document. Copies are supplied in accordance with the Borthwick Institute for Archives' terms and conditions for the supply of copies, and under provisions of any relevant copyright legislation. Permission to reproduce images of documents in the custody of the Borthwick Institute must be sought.

Accruals

Further accruals are expected.

Additional Information

Published

GB 193