Records of the Courts of Petty Sessions and Assizes, Shrievalty records, Crown rentals, apprenticeships, Conway & Colwyn Bay Joint Water Supply Board, wills and administrations, abstracts of title, leases and agreements, conveyances, miscellaneous deeds, agreements, settlements, grants and assignments.
Porter Papers, Conwy
- This material is held at
- ReferenceGB 2008 CD4
- Dates of Creation1751-1938
- Language of MaterialEnglish
- Physical Description154 boxes and 1 outsize bundle
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
James Porter (1865-1951) came to Conway in 1881 to serve his articles with Mr William Jones, solicitor. He eventually became a partner in the company, which changed name to William Jones, Porter & Co., then Porter & Amphlett (c1899) and finally Porter & Co. (c1922), the name under which the company traded until the late 1990s when it was incorporated into the firm of Gamlins, solicitors with branches throughout North Wales.
JP served as Clerk to the Colwyn Bay Local Board (1894-1897) during which time the Board became an Urban District Council; Clerk to the Justices at Conway (1888-) and Nant Conway Division (1914-); Clerk to the Income Tax Commissioners and to Conway Rural District Council (1912-); and Clerk to the Conway & Colwyn Bay Joint Water Supply Board (1919-1940). He was appointed Under-Sherriff in 1889 and served in that capacity several times. He was a member of Conway Borough Council (1900-1902), Mayor in 1902 and in 1931 made the 3rd Freeman of the Borough.
After retiring from legal practice, he was made a magistrate in 1935. He also served as a Manager of Conway and Gyffin National Schools, President of the Chester & North Wales Law Society (1914-1915) and honorary solicitor to the Royal Cambrian Academy.
Conditions Governing Access
This collection is open for research. Access to some documents may be restricted due to Data Protection legislation, Conwy Archives will advise where this is the case. For details and opening hours see http://www.conwy.gov.uk/en/Resident/Libraries-Museums-and-Archives/Archives/Archives.aspx.
Donated to Gwynedd Archives Service prior to 1961 and in the 1990s. Transferred to Conwy Archive in 2000. CD4/1-11 (34 boxes) catalogued under a project jointly funded by the Pilgrim Trust and CyMAL. The remaining boxes are currently in the process of being catalogued.