Hill House Isolation Hospital, records

Archive Collection

Scope and Content

D/D H/HH 1/1-8 Admission and discharge registers

D/D H/HH 2/1-6 Ward 4 Theatre registers

D/D H/HH 3/1-2 Mortuary books

D/D H/HH 4/1-3 Other records

Administrative / Biographical History

The foundation stone of Hill House Isolation Hospital was laid in the wall of the entrance lodge, facing the main entrance, by Alderman David Williams, JP, MP Chairman of Swansea Health Committee on the 27th September 1926. The hospital was finally opened on 22nd April 1929 by Councillor William Owen, JP Vice-Chairman of the Health Committee. It was built on land formerly belonging to the Hill House estate and the original mansion was retained as the administrative block with accommodation for staff. A full account of the necessity for such a hospital and details of its buildings, fixtures and fittings is contained in 'A brief history of Hill House Hospital' by M. Fay Williams published for its jubilee in 1979. (A copy is available in the searchroom library referenced Loc/Swa 67.) The hospital is now closed.

Conditions Governing Access

Items within this collection which contain information on named individuals may be restricted in accordance with the Data Protection Act.

Other Finding Aids

A hard copy is available at the West Glamorgan Archive Service

Conditions Governing Use

Usual copyright regulations apply.

Appraisal Information

All records received by the West Glamorgan Archive Service have been retained

Accruals

Accruals are not expected.