Minute Books 1927-1981; Financial Records 1924-1976; Correspondence and Circulars 1904-1940; Wage Books and Sheets 1902-1981; Training Records 1958-1981; Personnel Records 1926-1981;Monmouthshire and South Wales Colliery Owners' Association correspondence 1915-1946; Output records 1911-1980; Brynlliw Colliery Material 1909-1980; Grovesend Colliery Material 1905-1925; Mountain Colliery Material 1963-1967; Pantyffynnon Colliery Material 1968; Talyclyn Colliery Material 1937-1945; Pacific Patent Fuel Company Material 1895-1917
- This material is held at
- ReferenceGB 217 SWCC : MNB/COL/17
- Dates of Creation1895-1981
- Name of Creator
- Language of MaterialEnglish
- Physical Description26 boxes, 19 volumes, 2 bundles
- Direct Link
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
Morlais Colliery was sited in Llangennech, near Llanelli. The first pits were sunk in 1894 by Thomas Williams & Sons (Llangennech) Ltd. By 1926, ownership had changed to Evan Williams who was also chairman of the Monmouthshire and South Wales Coal Owners Association.
After Nationalisation in 1947, Morlais was placed in the National Coal Board's South Western Division, No. 1 (Swansea) Area, No. 2 (Morlais) Group. By the late 1970s, Morlais had been connected and merged with Brynlliw Colliery under the River Lougher. The whole complex was closed by 1981.
Morlais is notable for being one of the last Collieries in the South Wales Coalfield to have used steam for winding. Before closure, Morlais still used the same steam winding engine which had been built for the pit by Andrew Barclay & Sons of Kilmarnock in 1905.
Source: Ray Lawrence, The South Wales Coalfield Directory, Vol. 2 (1998 edn), pp. 345-6
Conditions Governing Access
Access unrestricted unless stated otherwise.
Other Finding Aids
A hardcopy list is available in the searchroom.
Conditions Governing Use
A photocopying service is available. Contact repository for details.
No publication without written permission from the Archivist.