Faversham Manor, Kent

Scope and Content

A Minute Book, 1766-92 of the Water Court of the Manor and Hundred of Faversham.

Administrative / Biographical History

The Company of Free Dredgers of Faversham were formerly under the jurisdiction of the Lord of the Manor who appointed a steward to hold two courts called admiralty courts, to which the members were summoned by the water bailiff. The first of these was held on the Saturday after Easter, the second on the last Saturday of July.

Access Information

Access to the items in the collection is unrestricted for the purpose of private study and personal research within the controlled environment and restrictions of the Library's Palaeography Room Uncatalogued material may not be seen. Please contact the University Archivist for details.

Archivist's Note

Conditions Governing Use

Copies may be made, subject to the condition of the original. Copying must be undertaken by the Palaeography Room staff, who will need a minimum of 24 hours to process requests.