Registers (including service and banns registers) 1685-1971; PCC minutes 1953-1973; Churchwardens' account books 1826-1919; other records 1920-1986.
Callwen Ecclesiastical Parish Records
- For more information, email the repository
- Advice on accessing these materials
- Cite this description https://archiveshub.jisc.ac.uk/data/gb216-p/301/cw
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
Dedicated to St Callwen until c. 1868, also known as Capel Colwyn or St Colwen's. Re-dedicated to St John the Baptist between 1964 and 1965. Originally a chapel of ease to Defynnog, became a separate parish c. 1868. Currently joint with Abercrave and Coelbren.
Ecclesiastical records are arranged into Incumbent's records, PCC records, Churchwardens' records and church affairs.
Conditions Governing Access
It is the policy of the West Glamorgan Archive Service to withhold the names of depositors.
Compiled by Richard Burman for the ANW project. The following source was used to compile this description: West Glamorgan Archive Service, Ecclesiastical Parishes, catalogue.
Other Finding Aids
A hard copy is available at the West Glamorgan Archive Service. A detailed list at item level is available at the West Glamorgan Archive Service.
Conditions Governing Use
Usual copyright regulations apply.
All records deposited at West Glamorgan Archive Service have been retained.
Accruals are possible