East Moors Steelworks, Cardiff papers comprising of aerial photograph of the steelworks, 1940s; annotated plan of works, 1951
East Moors Steelworks, Cardiff, Collection
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
The East Moors Steelworks was built for the Dowlais Iron Company of Merthyr Tydfil. The works was opened on 4 February 1891 by Lord Bute. The early twentieth century saw the formation of the industrial giant Guest Keen and Nettlefolds (GKN) from Dowlais and various other companies. Steel production rose to record levels during the First World War. During the depression years, East Moors flourished, with GKN investing Â£3 million in the works in 1935. This resulted in a plant capable of manufacturing half a million tons of steel a year. Heavy industry in Wales declined during the mid-twentieth century, and the East Moors Steelworks closed in 1978.
East Moors Steelworks, Cardiff papers arranged chronologically by record series
Conditions Governing Access
Deposited by a private individual, 2005
Other Finding Aids
A detailed catalogue is available
Physical Characteristics and/or Technical Requirements
Compiled by Annabel Wickham for the ANW Project; Sources used: Glamorgan Record Office finding aids.
Conditions Governing Use
Normal Glamorgan Record Office conditions apply
All records which meet the collection policy of Glamorgan Archives have been retained.
Accruals are possible