Richmond and East Sheen County School for Girls

Scope and Content

Administrative records for Richmond and East Sheen County School for Girls.

Administrative / Biographical History

Richmond and East Sheen County School for Girls was formed by the amalgamation of Richmond County School for Girls and East Sheen County School for Girls in 1939. Richmond County School for Girls was opened in 1909 in Parkshot, Richmond, as a fee-paying school, with Miss H Foster as headmistress. In 1931, a new school, East Sheen County School for Girls, was opened at Hertford Avenue in East Sheen, on the same site as East Sheen County School for Boys, but this school was closed in 1939, and the girls were transferred to Richmond County School for Girls at Parkshot. It became a grammar school in 1945, and closed in 1974, with the remaining girls transferring to Shene School.

Arrangement

Richmond and East Sheen County School for Girls had two predecessor schools, Richmond County School for Girls, and East Sheen County School for Girls. Local Studies does not hold any original records for Richmond County School for Girls, although it does hold microfilm copies of the original admissions registers, which are held at the Surrey History Centre. East Sheen County School for Girls opened on the same site as East Sheen County School for Boys in 1931, with its own teaching staff, but sharing a governing body with the boys' school. However, the two schools were clearly separate entities, and therefore have separate fonds: the girls' school closed in 1939, the site was vacated, and all administrative functions ceased, but the boys' school, which merged with Richmond County School for Boys (ref: S7), continued on the same site with the same teaching staff. The only records that Local Studies holds for East Sheen County School for Girls are the governors' minutes shared with the boys' school (ref: S7/5/1 and S7/5/2).



The Richmond and East Sheen County School for Girls collection is arranged into 2 series records:

  • S8/1 - Application Form Books, 1941-1943
  • S8/2 - Admission Registers, 1942-1947

Conditions Governing Access

This collection is closed and not currently available for research.

For further information, please contact Richmond upon Thames Local Studies Library and Archive through any of the contact methods listed at: http://www.richmond.gov.uk/localstudies

Other Finding Aids

A more detailed catalogue of this collection can be found online at https://richmond.spydus.co.uk/spydus.html

Related Material

Surrey History Centre holds the original admission application forms for a predecessor school, Richmond County School for Girls, for 1920-1967, ref: 3693, and microfilm copies of these admission application forms are held at Richmond Local Studies Library and Archive. Minutes of Governors' Meetings for 1931-39 for the predecessor school East Sheen County Girls' School, which are included in the minutes for East Sheen County Boys' School, are held in the Shene Grammar School for Boys collection, ref: S7

Personal Names