Parish records of York, St Mary Bishophill Junior

Scope and Content

Includes register of christenings, 1602-1910 (note this register uses the Dade registration scheme for the years 1780-1812); register of marriages, 1602-1951; register of burials, 1602-1853 (note this register uses the Dade registration scheme for the years 1777-1812); register of banns, 1823-1971; register of services, 1888-1957, 1959-1989; records concerning benefice income, including correspondence and papers, 1935-1951, accounts, 1880-1899, and tithe papers, 1935-1942; charity records, including account, 1957, minute book, 1954-1971, and correspondence and papers, 1907, 1910, 1935; churchwardens’ records, including fabric papers, 1909-1945; records of incumbents, including dilapidations papers, 1924-1935, 1953; school records, including deed, 1821, and faculty for building, 1881; terriers, 1817, 1885; Vestry/Parochial Church Council records, including parish boundary papers, 1885 and 1906; quinquennial inspection papers, 1978-1980.

Administrative / Biographical History

The church of York, St Mary Bishophill Junior was first mentioned in a papal confirmation of 1194, although parts of the building date from the 11th century. It is thought that its ‘junior’ designation refers to the earlier foundation of the neighbouring church of St Mary Bishophill Senior.

A 1294 valuation of the church and its parish showed that it included the outlying townships of Holgate, Copmanthorpe and Poppleton, making it one of the wealthiest parishes in York. Two chapels of ease were built to serve the inhabitants of Copmanthorpe and Poppleton at some point prior to 1556.

The church was subject to the peculiar jurisdiction of the Dean and Chapter of York until 1836 and was not affected by the consolidation of parishes that took place in York in the 16th century. In 1844 the outlying chapelries were detached to form a new benefice, Copmanthorpe with Upper Poppleton. In 1866 Upper Poppleton was severed from Copmanthorpe and united with Nether Poppleton to form the parish of Nether Poppleton with Upper Poppleton.

In 1856 the remainder of the outlying parts of St Mary’s parish were detached to form the new parish of St Paul Holgate; St Paul’s Church was consecrated on 3 June of that year. St Mary's Church was restored in 1860 by J. B. and W. Atkinson of York. The reredos was added by Temple Moore in the 1880s

In 1885 two small portions of the parish were transferred to St Mary Bishophill Senior with St Clement. The church of St Mary Bishophill Senior was demolished in 1963 and today St Mary Bishophill Junior is part of a joint parish with York, St Clement with St Mary Bishophill Senior.

Conditions Governing Access

Records are open to the public, subject to the overriding provisions of relevant legislation, including data protection laws. 24 hours' notice is required to access photographic material.

Acquisition Information

The archive was deposited at the Borthwick Institute in 1969 by the incumbent. Further additions were made to the archive in 1983, 1991, 1999 and 2006.

Note

The church of York, St Mary Bishophill Junior was first mentioned in a papal confirmation of 1194, although parts of the building date from the 11th century. It is thought that its ‘junior’ designation refers to the earlier foundation of the neighbouring church of St Mary Bishophill Senior.

A 1294 valuation of the church and its parish showed that it included the outlying townships of Holgate, Copmanthorpe and Poppleton, making it one of the wealthiest parishes in York. Two chapels of ease were built to serve the inhabitants of Copmanthorpe and Poppleton at some point prior to 1556.

The church was subject to the peculiar jurisdiction of the Dean and Chapter of York until 1836 and was not affected by the consolidation of parishes that took place in York in the 16th century. In 1844 the outlying chapelries were detached to form a new benefice, Copmanthorpe with Upper Poppleton. In 1866 Upper Poppleton was severed from Copmanthorpe and united with Nether Poppleton to form the parish of Nether Poppleton with Upper Poppleton.

In 1856 the remainder of the outlying parts of St Mary’s parish were detached to form the new parish of St Paul Holgate; St Paul’s Church was consecrated on 3 June of that year. St Mary's Church was restored in 1860 by J. B. and W. Atkinson of York. The reredos was added by Temple Moore in the 1880s

In 1885 two small portions of the parish were transferred to St Mary Bishophill Senior with St Clement. The church of St Mary Bishophill Senior was demolished in 1963 and today St Mary Bishophill Junior is part of a joint parish with York, St Clement with St Mary Bishophill Senior.

Other Finding Aids

A typescript finding aid, to file level, is available for consultation in the searchroom of the Borthwick Institute. This includes all material received up to and including 2006.

Alternative Form Available

Registers of christenings, 1602-1910, marriages, 1602-1951, burials, 1602-1853, and banns, 1823-1900, are also available on microfilm at the Borthwick Institute (References: MF 851-853, 1758-1759, 1786, 1783).

Archivist's Note

Created 12.11.15

Conditions Governing Use

A reprographics service is available to researchers subject to the access restrictions outlined above. Copying will not be undertaken if there is any risk of damage to the document. Copies are supplied in accordance with the Borthwick Institute for Archives' terms and conditions for the supply of copies, and under provisions of any relevant copyright legislation. Permission to reproduce images of documents in the custody of the Borthwick Institute must be sought.

Accruals

Further accruals are expected.

Related Material

The parish records of St Mary Bishophill Senior are also deposited at the Borthwick Institute.

Bibliography

Yorkshire Parish Register Society, 'The Parish Register of St Mary Bishophill Junior, York, 1602-1812' (Leeds, 1915).

Additional Information

Published

GB 193