St Mellons Rural District Council Records

Scope and Content

Records of St Mellons Rural District Council, 1895-1935.

Administrative / Biographical History

St Mellons Rural District Council (RDC), Monmouthshire, was established under the provisions of the Local Government Act 1894 and comprised the parishes of Bedwas, Betws, Coedcernyw, Dyffryn, Graig, Henllys, Machen Lower, Machen Upper, Malpas, Marshfields, Michaelston-y-fedw, Peterstone Wentlloog, Rogerstone, Rumney, St Bride's Wentlloog, St Mellons and St Woolloos. The Council comprised a number of councillors and a chairman and initially replaced the local sanitary authorities. Its responsibilities included sanitary services, sewerage, refuse collection, maintaining local roads, cemeteries and parks, licensing of public entertainments, water supply and housing. RDCs were administered by a number of committees and by appointed officers including a Clerk, Treasurer, Medical Officer of Health, Surveyor and Sanitary Inspector. St Mellons RDC was abolished in 1935 and was absorbed by the new Magor and St Mellons RDC with the exception of St Woollos and parts of Bettws and Malpas which joined Newport County Borough.


To be supplied

Access Information

No restrictions

Acquisition Information

No information found


Compiled by Rhys Jones for the ANW project. The following sources were used in the compilation of this description: Gwent Record Office, St Mellons Rural District Council, catalogue; Jackson, W. Eric, The Structure of Local Government in England and Wales (London: Longmans, 1949); Hey, David, Oxford Dictionary of Local and Family History (Oxford, 1997); A Vision of Britain website (, viewed 14 September 2005.

Other Finding Aids

Hard copies of the catalogue are available at Gwent Record Office.

Conditions Governing Use

Usual copyright regulations apply

Appraisal Information

All records have been retained


Accruals are not expected

Geographical Names