Papers of William Jones and Son, Pwllheli

Scope and Content

Records of William Jones and Son, timber yard, Pwllheli, 1843-[c.1965], including general business records, 1860-[c.1963]; financial records, 1851-1953; business correspondence, 1870-1920; order books, 1880-1892; schedules of stock, 1863-1952; business cards, [c.1844]-1883; records relating to timber importation, 1847-1950; timber importation financial records, 1849-1930; cheque book stubs, 1895-1909; plans and drawings, 1885-[c.1900]; journals, 1882-1911; personal papers of Griffith and John G. Jones, [c.1855]-[c.1965]; agricultural papers, [c.1860]-1893; personal correspondence of the Jones family, 1854-1920; personal financial papers, of the Jones family, 1865-1925; British and Foreign Bible Society, Pwllheli Auxiliary Branch records, 1843-1908; Pwllheli Church Expenses Fund records, 1906-1910; photographs, [c.1880]-[c.1897].

Administrative / Biographical History

William Jones, (d.1855) druggist, was a prominent member of the community of Pwllheli, Caernarfonshire during the early 19th century. He also expanded into shipbuilding, launching his first ship, the Ann in 1835 and established a timber yard in Pwllheli, Caernarfonshire in c.1837. It was later managed by his son, Griffith and grandson John G. Jones. Griffith Jones was the Secretary of the British and Foreign Bible Society, Pwllheli Auxiliary Branch. J. G. Jones was also the Churchwarden of St. Peter's Church, Pwllheli. The timber yard business continued until well into the second half of the 20th century.


Arranged into the following: Order books; Schedules of Timber Yard stock; General business records; Business cards; Timber importation; Plans and drawings; Business finance records; Timber importation finance records; Cheque book stubs; Business correspondence; Journals; Personal papers; Agricultural papers; Personal correspondence; Photographs; British and Foreign Bible Society Pwllheli Auxiliary Branch; Pwllheli Church Expense Fund.

Access Information

No restrictions

Acquisition Information

Source not recorded


Compiled by Richard Burman for the ANW project. The following sources were used in the compilation of this description: Caernarfon Record Office, Papers of William Jones and Son, Pwllheli, catalogue; Lloyd Hughes, D. G., Pwllheli: An old Weslh town and its history (Llandysul, 1991).

Other Finding Aids

Hard copies of the catalogue are available in Caernarfon Record Office, the National Library of Wales and the National Register of Archives. The catalogue is available online.

Conditions Governing Use

Usual copyright regulations apply.

Appraisal Information

All records deposited at Caernarfon Record Office have been retained.


Accruals are not expected

Geographical Names