'Catalogue of printed books, transcripts and MSS formerly belonging to E.J. Willson, Lincoln. Drawn up by Mr Wm. Brooke of Lincoln, 1857. With Additions - 1884.' There is a covering letter to Henry Bradshaw at the front of the volume, 11 January 1885, 3 pages.
Edward Willson: Catalogue of books and manuscripts
- For more information, email the repository
- Advice on accessing these materials
- Cite this description
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
Edward James Willson (1787-1854), antiquary and architect, was born in Lincoln on 21 June 1787. He superintended the repair and restoration of churches in Lincolnshire and Nottinghamshire, and designed his own churches. He was employed on the restoration of Lincoln Castle, 1834-1845. Willson contributed to John Britton's Architectural antiquities, 1807-1826, and to Augustus Charles Pugin's Specimens and Examples of Gothic architecture, 1821-1831. He was mayor of Lincoln in 1852, where he died on 8 September 1854.
Open for consultation by holders of a Reader's Ticket valid for the Manuscripts Reading Room.
Found in the Library; presumably from the papers of Henry Bradshaw.
Description compiled by Robert Steiner, Department of Manuscripts and University Archives. The biographical history was compiled with reference to the entry on Edward Willson in Sidney Lee, ed., Dictionary of national biography, vol. XXI (London, 1909), pp. 524-525.
Other Finding Aids