The Long Eaton Bridge Mills Company Ltd was registered in 1902. In the same year, F. Perks and Sons built a large steam powered lace factory for the company on Derby Road in Long Eaton, Derbyshire, to the specifications of the architect John Sheldon. The first ledger in this collection details the expenditure on the erecting and fitting out of Bridge Mills in 1902-1903. From its inauguration, the Long Eaton Bridge Mills Co. Ltd. provided lace making facilities for other companies. Most of the company's income came from rents and payments by its tenants, rather than from direct manufacture of lace products. Members of the Attenborough family were directors of the company from its foundation until the records cease in 1974.
The company was probably dissolved in 1975, and re-incorporated. A company by the same name, but incorporated only in 1975, was registered with Companies House in 2006. At that time the buildings at Bridge Mills still housed various industrial and commercial companies.
This collection also contains one journal of Astle's (Fine Laces) Ltd. This company, a tenant of the Long Eaton Bridge Mills Co. Ltd, was probably a descendent of Titus Astle Ltd, a lace manufacturing company listed at Bridge Mills in 'Kelly's Directory of Derbyshire, 1908'.