Financial Records; Staff Records.
Robert Stocks & Co. Ltd., Cloth Merchants and Manufacturers, Kirkcaldy
- This material is held at
- ReferenceGB 582 HWUA RS
- Dates of Creation1811-1958
- Language of MaterialEnglish
- Physical Description8 volumes, c. 1 linear metre, including some fabric samples.
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
The company originated with Robert Stocks, but in 1811 a family partnership was established when John Stocks agreed to loan 1000 to Robert and his brother William for five years without interest, to be repaid from the stock of the company. Robert admitted William as a partner for ten years in his business, which was henceforth to be known as Robert Stocks & Company [See Day Book Archive ref. RS 4/5/1]. Early records show the company selling unspecified goods to doctors throughout Scotland. Later records show the company managed yarn stores and dye houses.
Records are arranged chronologically by type following classification scheme
Conditions Governing Access
By appointment. Closure periods may apply to unpublished records less than 30 years old and other records containingpersonal information. Access to records in a fragile condition may be restricted.
Other Finding Aids
Printed list plus item level computerised list available at Heriot-Watt University
Conditions Governing Use
Photocopies and photographic copies canbe supplied for educational use and private study purposesonly, depending on the condition of the documents. Permission to publish material from the Archive must be sought in advance from the University Archivist. Responsibility for obtaining copyright clearance rests with the applicant.
The records were first listed as part of the Archive by the Business Archives Council (Scotland) Surveying Officer in 1988 while in the High Mill. Following the merger of the Scottish College of Textiles with Heriot-Watt University in October 1998, responsibility for the collection was transferred to Heriot-Watt University Archive, Records Management and Museum Service. In September 2000, the Archive moved to the Main Building at the Scottish Borders Campus, Galashiels.