The Reform Club

  • This material is held at
  • Reference
      GB 345 NGA35/7
  • Former Reference
      GB 345 NG33/43
  • Dates of Creation
      1971-1972
  • Language of Material
      English
  • Physical Description
      1 file

Scope and Content

Includes correspondence, minutes, proposals and plans of the Club's Working Party Lighting Committee of which Martin Davies was a member.

Administrative / Biographical History

The Reform Club, situated at 104-105 Pall Mall SW1, was founded in 1832 by the Radicals and Whigs after the Reform Bill of the same year.

It was established in 1836 in a building designed by the architect Sir Charles Barry, but eventually constructed on a larger scale, on the site which had housed the NG from 1824-1824 (then a private house of the banker John Julius Angerstein who had donated the first 38 pictures to the NG).

Initially it's membership was political but by the Nineteenth Century it had become more of a social club. Davies was a member for most of his life and in 1971, he was approached to join a Working Party for the renovation of the Club's Lighting.

Access Information

Open