Llanhilleth Colliery paybooks, 1908, 1926-1942.
Records of Partridge, Jones & John Paton Ltd. (Llanhilleth Colliery)
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
Llanhilleth colliery, Monmouthshire, was established in the 1860s by W. Crook. In 1890, the mine came under the control of Partridge, Jones and John Paton Ltd. The colliery produced fine quality steam coal until it closed in 1969.
Conditions Governing Access
Compiled by Richard Burman for the ANW project. The following sources were used in the compilation of this description: Catalogue of Partridge, Jones & John Paton Ltd. (Llanhilleth Colliery) records; Welsh Coal Mines (http://www.welshcoalmines.co.uk/), viewed 25th May 2004.
Other Finding Aids
Hard copies of the catalogue are available in Gwent Record Office, the National Library of Wales and the National Register of Archives.
Conditions Governing Use
Usual copyright regulations apply.
All records deposited at Gwent Record Office have been retained.
Accruals are not expected