A minute book chronicling the main events at Maenan Chapel from its opening in 1901 until its closure in 1969. Various account books, 1904 - 1969, including a pew rent book, 1943 - 1968. Correspondence relating to the buildings and land held by the chapel and to the integration of Maenan and Jerusalem Chapels, both in Penmaen-mawr. Also, a speech made by Mr Ivor Parry during the last service held at Maenan Chapel on 30 March 1969.
Maenan Chapel Records
- This material is held at
- ReferenceGB 222 BMSS MNN
- Dates of Creation1901 - 1969
- Name of Creator
- Language of MaterialWelsh, and English.
- Physical Description29 items
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
Maenan Calvinist Methodist Chapel in Penmaen-mawr, Caernarfonshire opened in 1901. Initially, there were 60 members, but by 1905, following the religious revival, that number had grown to 105 and this growth continued for many years.
The first minister was Rev. W. H. Jones who was then followed by Rev. Cynddelw Williams in 1921. The prosperity of the chapel continued up until the 1950's when it suffered a great blow, losing 5 of its deacons over a period of 6 years.
Rev. Stafford Williams, who had served as minister since 1932, died in 1968, and in 1969 it was decided that Maenan Chapel should close. The remaining members united with Jerusalem Chapel, Penmaen-mawr. The last service was held on 30 March 1969.
Arranged according to record type and then chronologically and incorporated into the General Collection of Bangor Manuscripts
Conditions Governing Access
Open to all users.
Description compiled by Elen Wyn Hughes, April 2002.
Other Finding Aids
An item level typescript catalogue is available at the Archives Department of the University of Wales Bangor. Reference numbers : General Collection of Bangor Manuscripts 31322 - 31350
Conditions Governing Use
Usual copyright conditions apply. Reprographics are made at the discretion of the Archivist.