Records accumulated by Bridon PLC
GEORGE CRADDOCK AND CO
- For more information, email the repository
- Advice on accessing these materials
- Cite this description
- This material is held at
- ReferenceGB 197 DYBRI/8
- Dates of Creation1905-1930s ?
- Physical Description16 items
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
Administrative History The firm originated in Darlington but in 1853 moved to Wakefield where it began to make wire rope as well as rope from fibre. In 1879, John Lang, the patentee of Lang's Lay rope, became works manager on leaving R.S. Newall and Co. Fibre rope production was discontinued in 1881. The firm became part of British Ropes in 1924.