Cwmbran Works: administrative records, 1921-1943, including General Manager's monthly reports; financial records, 1895-1942, including statements, balance sheets, papers concerning income tax etc.; records relating to plant, 1920-1933; personnel records, 1913 and undated (19th century); estate records, 1867-1929, including deeds and papers relating to rates and rents; fire insurance papers, 1926; miscellaneous papers, 1905 and undated (c. 1800-1960). Cwmbran Colliery: administrative records, 1923-1928, including report; financial records, 1890-1919, including statements; records relating to plant, 1896-1929 and undated (c. 1800-1960), including correspondence and specifications; personnel records, 1887-1912 and undated (c. 1875-1950); miscellaneous papers, undated (c. 1895). Viaduct Colliery: correspondence, 1921-1924. Records relating to Bolt works, Iron works and foundry, 1896-1905 and undated (c. 1800-1960). Henllis Brick Works and Colliery: correspondence, specifications and reports, 1897-1929. Newport Offices and Wharf: correspondence and agreements, 1889-1917. Plans, 1873-1928 and undated (c. 1800-1960). Further deposit including statements, returns, schedules, correspondence and ledgers, 1871-1944.
The Cwmbran Works of Messrs. Guest, Keen and Nettlefold Ltd.
- This material is held at
- ReferenceGB 218 D409
- Dates of Creation[c. 1800]-1960
- Language of MaterialEnglish
- Physical Description89 items
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
Cwmbran works commenced with the building of an iron foundry in 1800. After various changes of ownership the works were acquired by the Patent Nut and Bolt Company on its formation in 1864. In 1900 the works passed into the hands of Guest Keen & Co. and in 1902 became the property of Messrs. Guest, Keen and Nettlefold Ltd. The works comprised an ironworks and foundry, a bolt and nut railway fastenings plant, coke ovens, washery and by-products plant and two collieries - the Cwmbran and the Viaduct Collieries. Nearby was the Henllis brick and retort works which the Company also took over. The Viaduct Colliery supplied the clay to the brickworks. In 1964 only the foundry was worked by the Company. The Company at that point still owned the Henllis brickworks which manufactured firebricks and other refractory goods for steel and other furnaces together with retorts of varoius designs.
The documents are not available for public examination without the permission of the depositors.
Mine of Information Project, University of Wales Swansea LIS Archives, Library & Information Centre, University of Wales Swansea,Singleton Park, Swansea SA2 8PP.
Other Finding Aids
A hardcopy list is available in the searchroom.
Conditions Governing Use
A photocopying service is available. Contact repository for details. No publication without written permission from the Archivist.