Letters from Mendelssohn to members of the Horsley family

Archive Collection

Scope and Content

Twenty letters from Mendelssohn to members of the Horsley family, and several pieces of autograph music, including an arrangement for a piano duet of the 'Overture to the Isles of Fingal'.

Administrative / Biographical History

Jacob Ludwig Felix Mendelssohn-Bartholdy (1809-47) was a composer. See the Grove Dictionary of Music for further details.

Conditions Governing Access

Entry to read in the Library is permitted only on presentation of a valid reader's card (for admissions procedures see http://www.bodley.ox.ac.uk).


Collection level description created by Susan Thomas, Department of Special Collections and Western Manuscripts.

Other Finding Aids

See Peter Ward Jones, Catalogue of the Mendelssohn papers in the Bodleian Library, Oxford, III (Tutzing, 1989), pp. 308-11.

Related Material


Some of the letters have been printed in Karl Wolfgang P. Mendelssohn-Bartholdy Goethe and Mendelssohn, 1821-1831, tr., with additions, by M.E. von Glehn, second edition (London: 1874).