This legal practice founded by Hugh Ellis was originally located at Bangor but moved to Porth yr Aur, Caernarfon around 1790. John Evans, born in 1766, at Llanllyfni, entered into articles with Hugh Ellis in 1789. When the latter died in 1808, John Evans seems to have taken over his practice and developed it into one of the most active practices of the day in north Wales with a very broad clientele. He was administrator of two major estates in the county of Caernarfon for a period, Madryn and Coetmor, and also acted for the Gwynfryn, Vaynol and Glynllifon estates and the Pentir and the Brynkir estates in Caernarvonshire and the Taicroesion estate in Anglesey. He also advised a large number of yeomen farmers in these counties.
John Evans was an important figure in the area, with interests which extended beyond his legal practice into local government administration and the slate quarrying industry in north Wales. After Hugh Ellis' death, John Evans succeeded him as clerk of the magistrates for the Caernarfon district in 1808. In 1810 he was appointed Deputy-Protonotary of the North Wales Circuit, and was deputy sheriff of Caernarfon County in 1811, 1812 and 1821. He opened the Cilgwyn Quarry in 1800 and acted as its managing director. His office at Porth yr Aur, Caernarfon was also the office of the company and he had an interest in the Cefn Du Quarry for a time.
John Evans married Sydney, daughter of the Reverend William Griffith of Rhoscolyn and had a son, John Griffith Evans who served his articles in his father's office but did not succeed to the practice. His marriage, which did not meet his father's approval apparently led to an estrangement between father and son. After his death in 1827 his nephew, Evan Evans who had worked for his uncle for several years, succeeded him but the practice shrank during his short career. Following the death of Evan Evans ca. 1836, the practice, or at least the office, was occupied by R.D. Williams who was succeeded by his son of the same name.