Parish records of Myton on Swale

Scope and Content

Includes register of christenings, 1654-1993; register of marriages, 1654-1812, 1815-1837, and 1837-1992 (as a photocopy); register of burials, 1654-1992 (note this register uses the Dade registration scheme for the years 1784-1811, ages only); charity records, including accounts of money received for poor, 1675-1741.

Administrative / Biographical History

The church of Myton on Swale dates to at least the twelfth century when it was the subject of a dispute between the Treasurer of St Peter’s, York, and the Abbot and convent of St Mary’s, York. The church was subsequently appropriated to St Mary’s Abbey, and a vicarage ordained there, in 1301.

The Abbey held the advowson of the church until the Dissolution of the Monasteries in the sixteenth century, at which time it passed to the Crown. In 1545 it was granted to Robert, Archbishop of York and it has been held by the Archbishops since this time.

The present parish church, which is dedicated to St Mary, dates from the thirteenth century, with further additions made in the fifteenth. It is said to have been built using stones from the Roman ruins at nearby Aldborough. The church was restored in 1887-1888 to designs by architect Charles Hodgson Fowler.

Today the parish is part of the benefice of Brafferton with Pilmoor, Myton on Swale and Thormanby.

Conditions Governing Access

Records are open to the public, subject to the overriding provisions of relevant legislation, including data protection laws. 24 hours' notice is required to access photographic material.

Acquisition Information

The archive was deposited at the Borthwick Institute in 1968 by the incumbent. A further addition was made to the archive in 1993.

Note

The church of Myton on Swale dates to at least the twelfth century when it was the subject of a dispute between the Treasurer of St Peter’s, York, and the Abbot and convent of St Mary’s, York. The church was subsequently appropriated to St Mary’s Abbey, and a vicarage ordained there, in 1301.

The Abbey held the advowson of the church until the Dissolution of the Monasteries in the sixteenth century, at which time it passed to the Crown. In 1545 it was granted to Robert, Archbishop of York and it has been held by the Archbishops since this time.

The present parish church, which is dedicated to St Mary, dates from the thirteenth century, with further additions made in the fifteenth. It is said to have been built using stones from the Roman ruins at nearby Aldborough. The church was restored in 1887-1888 to designs by architect Charles Hodgson Fowler.

Today the parish is part of the benefice of Brafferton with Pilmoor, Myton on Swale and Thormanby.

Other Finding Aids

A typescript finding aid, to file level, is available for consultation in the searchroom of the Borthwick Institute. This includes all material received up to and including 1993.

Alternative Form Available

Registers of christenings, 1654-1993, marriages, 1654-1900, and burials, 1654-1992, are also available on microfilm at the Borthwick Institute (References: MF 741, 883, 1756).

Archivist's Note

Created by S. A. Shearn, 25.02.16.

Conditions Governing Use

A reprographics service is available to researchers subject to the access restrictions outlined above. Copying will not be undertaken if there is any risk of damage to the document. Copies are supplied in accordance with the Borthwick Institute for Archives' terms and conditions for the supply of copies, and under provisions of any relevant copyright legislation. Permission to reproduce images of documents in the custody of the Borthwick Institute must be sought.

Accruals

Further accruals are expected.

Bibliography

Yorkshire Parish Register Society, 'The parish register of Myton upon Swale. 1654-1812.' Transcribed and edited by Hilary Isaac Robinson (Wakefield, 1956).



Yorkshire Archaeological Society, 'The parish registers of Easingwold, Raskelf, and Myton upon Swale, 1813-1837, with parish register transcripts for Raskelf, 1600-1746/7, and Myton upon Swales, 1598-1639/40.' Transcribed and edited by Norah K. M. Gurney (Leeds, 1983).

Additional Information

Published

GB 193