Records of Capel Waunfawr, 1838-1984, including financial records, 1852-1984, including account books and collection books; membership records, 1862-1955; records of Sunday Schools at Waunfawr/Bethel, 1871-1980, and Groeslon, 1924-1971; records of the children's school, 1886-1970; baptism registers, 1838-1888; orders of burial, 1890-1919, 1933; annual reports, 1919-1947; plans, , 1923; photographs, [20th century]; and chapel window blinds, [20th century].
Cofnodion Capel M. C. Waunfawr
- This material is held at
- ReferenceGB 219 XM/6513, XS/3134
- Dates of Creation1838-1984
- Name of Creator
- Language of MaterialWelsh English
- Physical Description(193 items)
- Direct Link
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
The Calvinistic Methodist cause in Waunfawr, Caernarfonshire, was established in 1746. The first chapel building at Capel Bethel (or Capel Waunfawr) was built in 1785. The chapel held Sunday Schools in the nearby village of Groeslon.
Arranged into the following: financial; membership; Sunday School; Ysgol y Plant; baptism registers and orders for burial; annual reports; miscellaneous; photographs; curios.
Conditions Governing Access
No information found
Compiled by Rhys Jones for the ANW project. The following sources were used in the compilation of this description: Caernarfon Record Office, Capel M.C. Waunfawr yn cynnwys Ysgoldy Groeslon, catalogue; NLW, Capeli database, viewed 24 November 2004.
Other Finding Aids
Hard copies of the catalogue are available at Caernarfon Record Office, Meirionnydd Archives and the National Register of Archives. The catalogue is available online.
Conditions Governing Use
Usual copyright regulations apply
All records have been retained
Accruals are not expected