Draft and final typescript version of Dr JAR Bickford's historical account of the Hull Borough Asylum (1849-1883) that was published in 1981.
The Old Hull Borough Asylum
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
The asylum was established in 1849 by the borough magistrates under the Lunatic Asylum Act of 1845 (8 & 9 Vict. c.126). It was taken over by the Corporation in 1882.
Bickford's historical account of the Borough Asylum was published in 1981. It draws upon the case histories of patients, reports of Board of Guardians and the Commissioners in Lunacy, the asylum correspondence held in the City Archives and 'The Hull Advertiser'.
Conditions Governing Access
Access will be granted to any accredited reader
Conditions Governing Use
Dr JAR Bickford
Donated by Dr JAR Bickford, Kirkella, January 1989