Church Committee minutes, 1908-1913, 1928-1935; Sunday School Teachers' Committee minutes, 1912-1923; Minutes of the Elders meeting, 1938-1952; Church Council minutes, 1943-1946
Sardis Presbyterian [Calvinistic Methodist] Church, Plassey Street, Penarth, Records
- This material is held at
- ReferenceGB 214 D1232
- Dates of Creation1908-1952
- Name of Creator
- Language of MaterialEnglish
- Physical Description5 volumes
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
The church opened in 1861 and was the first purpose-built nonconformist chapel in the town. Services in Sardis were held partly in English and partly in Welsh but in 1879 it was decided to use English only. The church was rebuilt in 1886 and continued in use until the early 1950s when it was decided to build St David's Presbyterian Church of Wales, Elfed Avenue, Penarth.
Chronological within record series.
Conditions Governing Access
Deposited by Elfed Avenue United Church, Penarth, March 2015
Other Finding Aids
A detailed catalogue is available online.
Physical Characteristics and/or Technical Requirements
Compiled by H Thomas for Glamorgan Archives with reference to Capel The Chapels Heritage Society local information sheet 2 Penarth (1991)
Conditions Governing Use
Normal Glamorgan Archives conditions apply.
All records which meet the collection policy of Glamorgan Archives have been retained.
The records remained in the custody of the depositor until transferred to Glamorgan Archives.
Accruals are possible