'A narrative of Thorney Abbey from its first foundation as a religious house to the present time, including some remarks on the monasteries situated in its immediate neighbourhood and also on the adjacent county, with historical notes and references', 274 pages. There are a number of inserted maps and diagrams, including a map of the Thorney lordship at the beginning of the volume.
Narrative of Thorney Abbey
- For more information, email the repository
- Advice on accessing these materials
- Cite this description
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
Thorney Abbey in Cambridgeshire was the seat of Saxon hermits for three centuries until it was refounded for Benedictine monks by thelwold, Bishop of Winchester, in 972. The church became known as St Mary and St Botolph's after thelwold brought the body of St Botolph to the abbey. A new church was completed on the site in 1108, and the abbey grew in wealth until the Dissolution of the Monasteries. In 1550 the buildings and most of the property were granted to John Russell, Earl of Bedford, whose family still owns them today.
Conditions Governing Access
Open for consultation by holders of a Reader's Ticket valid for the Manuscripts Reading Room.
Purchased from Stanley Crowe Ltd, London, 4 July 1977.
Description compiled by Robert Steiner, Department of Manuscripts and University Archives.
Other Finding Aids