Cefn Meiriadog Council School opened on 7th September 1920. On first day 25 children attended - boys, girls and infants. The First Headteacher was Dilys Jones . Up to 50 children were soon enrolled at any one time.
The first council school was housed in the vestry of the Cefn Meiriadog chapel building but very it became apparent that this was unsuitable premises and had to be shared with chapel meetings etc. By early 1930s the County Council prosed a new school building for 80 scholars. The new school building was opened for pupils on 20th May 1935.
Dilys Jones was replaced on 2nd October 1933 by Mr A.C. Davies who was Head teacher until the end of 1944. Gwyneth Roberts became Headteacher in January 1945. A temporary, uncertified teacher, Miss Winifred Jones, took up a position as assistant teacher in April 1929 and remained at the school until 1970.
In September 1939 the Headteacher Mr. A. C. Davies acted as billeting officer for war evacuees to Cefn - school used as billeting distribution centre.
An important event in the school's history was the opening of the school canteen on 1st September 1943 and the first school meal being served!
The school later became known as Ysgol Cefn Meiriadog.
Street name- Groesfford Marli, Marli, Abergele, LL22 9DS
This collection consists of one log book.
Related material held at Denbighshire Archives-
CD/A/4/20- School Plan 1933
"Cofio'r Cefn" - Cefn Historical Society Magazine No 16 Summer 1985