Society records of the Methodist Church, Huntington Methodist Chapel

Scope and Content

Records of Trustees, including meeting minute book, 1899-1962, and form of resolution for appointing new trustees, 1951; Stewards' meeting minute book, 1993-2009; financial records, including bank books, 1899-1905, and cheque book stubs, 1899-1905; Women's Circle records, including minutes of committee meetings, 1970-1990, accounts, 2007-2008, programmes for evening meetings, 1976-2010, and circular concerning future of group, 2008.

Unlisted material.

Administrative / Biographical History

A Wesleyan Methodist chapel was first built at Huntington in 1825. It was enlarged in 1867 and rebuilt in 1900. The new chapel, designed by Edward Taylor of York, could accommodate 133 worshippers and included a schoolroom for 84 children.

Originally part of the single York Circuit of the Wesleyan Methodist Connexion, in 1867 it became part of the York, New Street Circuit (renamed Clifton Circuit in 1909). Following the unification of the Primitive, Wesleyan and United Methodist churches in 1932, it continued as part of the York, Clifton Circuit of what was now a unified Methodist Connexion until 1957, when it joined York, Clifton & Monkgate Circuit. In 1972 it became part of York, North Circuit.

As of 2016 it is still in use. Since 2012 it has been part of the York Circuit of the Methodist Church.

Conditions Governing Access

Records are open to the public, subject to the overriding provisions of relevant legislation, including data protection laws. 24 hours' notice is required to access photographic material.

Acquisition Information

The archive was deposited at the Borthwick Institute prior to 1995. Further additions were made to the archive in 1995, 2010, 2014, 2016 and 2018.

Note

A Wesleyan Methodist chapel was first built at Huntington in 1825. It was enlarged in 1867 and rebuilt in 1900. The new chapel, designed by Edward Taylor of York, could accommodate 133 worshippers and included a schoolroom for 84 children.

Originally part of the single York Circuit of the Wesleyan Methodist Connexion, in 1867 it became part of the York, New Street Circuit (renamed Clifton Circuit in 1909). Following the unification of the Primitive, Wesleyan and United Methodist churches in 1932, it continued as part of the York, Clifton Circuit of what was now a unified Methodist Connexion until 1957, when it joined York, Clifton & Monkgate Circuit. In 1972 it became part of York, North Circuit.

As of 2016 it is still in use. Since 2012 it has been part of the York Circuit of the Methodist Church.

Other Finding Aids

A typescript finding aid, to file level, is available for consultation in the searchroom of the Borthwick Institute. This includes all material received up to and including 2010. Later material has not yet been listed, please contact the Institute for more information.

Archivist's Note

Created by S. A. Shearn, 01.12.16; revised N.J. Melia, 28.06.18.

Conditions Governing Use

A reprographics service is available to researchers subject to the access restrictions outlined above. Copying will not be undertaken if there is any risk of damage to the document. Copies are supplied in accordance with the Borthwick Institute for Archives' terms and conditions for the supply of copies, and under provisions of any relevant copyright legislation. Permission to reproduce images of documents in the custody of the Borthwick Institute must be sought.

Accruals

Further accruals are expected.

Related Material

Circuit records for the York Circuit and York, New Street (renamed Clifton Circuit) of the Wesleyan Methodist Connexion and the York, Clifton; York, Clifton & Monkgate; and York, North Circuits of the Methodist Connexion are also deposited at the Borthwick Institute. These all form a single archive: Circuit records of the Methodist Connexion, York (New Street) Circuit (MRC/1).

Additional Information

Published

GB193