- Minute books 1930-1979
- Balance sheets 1955-1973
- Ledgers 1910-1976
- Purchase day book 1951-1961
- Journal 1952-1966
- Cash books 1951-1961
- Accounts 1926-1969
- Bank account records 1908-1973
- Sales records 1936-1970
- Wages and salaries records 1942-1969
- Correspondence 1899-1980
- Agreements 1935-1967
- Car delivery books 1958-1964
- Car books 1919-1958
- Workshop records 1950-1979
- Presscuttings 1959-1975
- Garage plans 1951-1971
Records of Andersons (Newton Mearns) Ltd, car dealers, Newton Mearns, East Renfrewshire, Scotland
- This material is held at
- ReferenceGB 248 UGD 150
- Dates of Creation1899-1980
- Name of Creator
- Physical Description3.7 metresThere are no physical characteristics or technical requirements that affect the use of this material.
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
William Anderson established the firm of William Anderson , coal merchant and contractors, in 1832 at premises at Thornliebank, East Renfrewshire, Scotland. The firm remained in the hands of the family after the death of William Anderson. In 1895 , new premises were acquired at Speirsbridge, near Thornliebank. Robert Anderson (d1937) ran the company from the 1840s. As keen cyclist, he moved into selling and repairing bicycles and in 1904 the company sold its first motorcar, a 10/20 Coventry Humber for £358. In 1902 , he acquired further premises at Newton Mearns, East Renfrewshire, which he operated as Robert Anderson , bicycle repairers and garage. The William Anderson coal company was retained as a separate concern and operated under its original name until 1930.
The Newton Mearns site became the firm's main garage premises, although a second garage was acquired at Giffnock, East Renfrewshire, in 1915 . In 1930 the business was incorporated as a limited liability company, Andersons (Newton Mearns) Ltd . Robert Anderson's son, James, was responsible for building the "Anderson's Specials" of the 1920s. There were 4 car models available with a variety of chassis, suspensions and power units, the most famous being the 'Bug'. The first Anderson Special was built in 1922 and was torpedo shaped with a space frame built up from light mild steel angle to carry units and panels. The power units for the 'Bug' varied but it finished up with 2 Austin 7 engines side by side.
In 1947 the company ceased its operations as coal merchants and contractors. The company was a dealer for Rootes (later Chrysler) Cars and operated a machine tool shop between 1947 and 1960 . In Andersons (Newton Mearns) Ltd 1980 went into voluntary liquidation.
Source: David Arthur,'Mearns History Group: Anderson's of Newton Mearns Ltd' ,The Mearns Press(November 2001)
This material is arranged into series, which consist of numbers of items related by format and/or function. Within series, the items are generally arranged chronologically.
Gift : Andersons of Newton Mearns : December 1980 : ACCN 0012
Other Finding Aids
Digital file level list available in searchroom.
Manual file level list available at the National Registers of Archives in Edinburgh (NRA(S)2495) and London (NRA23736)
Alternative Form Available
No known copies
Conditions Governing Use
Applications for permission to quote should be sent to the University Archivist
Reproduction subject to usual conditions: educational use & condition of documents
This material has been appraised in line with normal procedures
Received directly from creator
No known publications using this material
This material is original
Revised by David Powell, Hub Project Archivist, 29 April 2002