Royal College of Science

Scope and Content

Records of the Royal College of Science, 1881-1971, comprising lists of Royal Exhibitioners, National Scholars and Free students, teachers in training, 1881-1896; lists of science teachers attending instruction courses, 1883-1899; accounts of payments to government students, 1902-1906; admission forms from fee paying students, 1906-1907; memoranda book, 1893-1896; Open day for visitors, 1971.

Administrative / Biographical History

The Royal College of Science was formed in 1881 in South Kensington by merging some courses of the Royal School of Mines with courses in Mathematics, Astronomy, Botany and Agriculture. It was originally named the Normal School of Science (the title was based on the Ecole Normale in Paris), with one of the aims of the School being to provide systematic training to school science teachers. Students of the Royal College of Science were able to qualify in the subjects of Physics, Chemistry, Mechanics, Biology and Agriculture. In 1890 was the School was renamed the Royal College of Science. In 1907 the Royal College of Science and Royal School of Mines were incorporated in the Royal Charter of the Imperial College of Science and Technology.

Access Information


Researchers wishing to consult the Archives should first contact the College Archivist, Imperial College of Science, Technology and Medicine, Exhibition Road, London SW7 2AZ, for an appointment.

Other Finding Aids

A catalogue is available in the reading room of the College Archives.

Conditions Governing Use

A photocopying service is available at the discretion of the Archivist. Photocopies are supplied for research use only. Requests to publish original material should be submitted to the Archivist.

Custodial History

Created and accumulated by the Royal College of Science and Imperial College of Science, Technology and Medicine during the course of business.

Related Material

Records of the Royal College of Chemistry (C), Royal School of Mines and Royal College of Science (D), Governing Body (GB), Departments of Chemistry and Chemical Engineering (KC), Department of Geology (KG), Department of Materials (KMET), Department of Physics (KP), held at Imperial College.