Records of Bethesda Independent Chapel, Briton Ferry, 1859-1981, comprising registers of contributions, 1859-1981; financial records, 1910-1970; Hoo Street Sunday School minutes, 1906-1908.
Bethesda Independent Chapel, Briton Ferry, Records
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
Bethesda Chapel, Briton Ferry, Glamorgan, a daughter church to Maesyrhaf, Neath, and Siloh, Melincryddan, was erected in 1848 and rebuilt in 1864. A Sunday School attached to Bethesda was later built at Hoo Street, Briton Ferry. Mary Owen (1796-1875), the Welsh hymnist from Ynysmaerdy, was a member of the congregation. The chapel ceased to be used in 1989 and the membership subsequently held its services at the Old Age Pensioners Hall in Mansel Street, Briton Ferry.
Arranged into the following: registers of contributions; financial records; Hoo Street Sunday School minutes.
Conditions Governing Access
It is the policy of the West Glamorgan Archive Service to withhold the names of depositors.
Compiled by Rhys Jones for the ANW project. The following source was used in the compilation of this description: West Glamorgan Archive Service, Religion - Nonconformist - Welsh Independent - Bethesda Independent Chapel. Briton Ferry, catalogue.
Other Finding Aids
Hard copies of the catalogue are available at West Glamorgan Archive Service.
Conditions Governing Use
Usual copyright regulations apply.
All records have been retained
Accruals are not expected