Records of the Nurses' Christian Movement; comprising incomplete sequences of the Movement's signed minutes, 1909-1967; and incomplete sequences of the Movement's publications including printed annual reports for the years 1905-1951, issues of its Leaflet, Monthly Letter, and magazine/newsletter Nurses Near and Far, and individual publications commissioned in the course of its activity.
Records of the Nurses' Christian Movement and its predecessors Nurses' Missionary Union, and Nurses' Missionary League
- This material is held at
- ReferenceGB 150 DA31
- Dates of Creation1905-1967
- Name of Creator
- Language of MaterialEnglish
- Physical Description5 boxes
- Direct Link
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
The Nurses' Missionary Union was established in 1903. It changed its name to the Nurses' Missionary League in 1906, and to the Nurses' Christian Movement in 1941. This body closed in 1967 but a gift of funds led to the establishment of the Discovery Foundation for Christian Work among Nurses and Associated Professions.
Reference: University of Birmingham, Special Collections Department, Online Archive Catalogue (http://calmview.bham.ac.uk/). Accessed April 2002.
The collection is arranged into two series: minutes, and reports and other publications. Thereunder the files are arranged in chronological order.
Conditions Governing Access
Open. Access to all bona fide researchers. All papers held at the Orchard Learning Resources Centre will be viewed at the Birmingham University Information Services, Special Collections Department. Please contact the University Archivist for further information.
Records of the Nurses' Missionary League [subsequently the Nurses' Christian Movement] were deposited in 1967 on the winding up of the Nurses' Christian Movement.
Other Finding Aids
A catalogue is available in electronic format on the Birmingham University Information Services, Special Collections Department website: http://calmview.bham.ac.uk/ and in paper format within the Department.
Conditions Governing Use
Permission to make any published use of any material from the collection must be sought in advance in writing from the University Archivist, Special Collections. Identification of copyright holders of unpublished material is often difficult. Special Collections will assist where possible with identifying copyright owners, but responsibility for ensuring copyright clearance rests with the user of the material.
Following the merger of the Selly Oak Colleges and the University of Birmingham in 1999 the custodial ownership of collections belonging to the Selly Oak Colleges and held at the Orchard Learning and Resource Centre (OLRC) was transferred to the University. These collections now form part of the University's Special Collections Department and are available for consultation at the Main Library on the University's Edgbaston Campus.