Ysgol Gymraeg Castell-nedd

Scope and Content

E/N 31/1/1 School histories

E/N 31/2/1-5 Correspondence

E/N 31/3/1-2 Programmes

E/N 31/4/1 Photographs

E/N 31/5/1-2 Other records

Administrative / Biographical History

The story of Ysgol Gymraeg Castell-nedd began in 1948 when a group of parents got together on Saturday mornings and held a nursery class in Bethlehem Green chapel vestry. In 1954, Ysgol Gymraeg Castell-nedd opened in Bethania Chapel on London Road, Neath with just 15 pupils aged between 4 and 9 years old. In 1955 the school moved to Ynysmaerdy. The school moved again in 1958 to a house on Woodland Road, Neath which was part of the Gnoll School. As pupil numbers grew the school was moved once again to Mynachlog Nedd in 1967. Finally in 1973 the school moved for the final time to the old Gnoll School. The school remains on that site today.

Conditions Governing Access

No restrictions

Other Finding Aids

A hard copy is available at the West Glamorgan Archive Service

Conditions Governing Use

Usual copyright regulations apply.

Appraisal Information

All records received by the West Glamorgan Archive Service have been retained

Accruals

Accruals are not expected.