Community Councils Records

Scope and Content

Records of Parish Council and Community Councils, Pembrokeshire, 1867-2001: records of Newport Parish Council, 1894-1963, Johnston Parish Council, 1929-1962, Lampeter Velfrey Parish Council, 1895-1955, Ambleston Parish Council, 1894-1974, Llanfyrnach Parish Council, 1906-1980, Llanfihangel Penbedw Parish Council, 1894-1944, Carew Parish Council, 1894-1957, Carew Community Council, 1958-1995, Manor Deifi Parish Council, 1903-1921, Llangwm Parish Council, 1899-1981, Llangwm Community Council, 1981-1997, Hayscastle, St Lawrence and St Edrins Joint Parish Council, 1894-1974, Rudbaxton Parish Council, 1894-1955, St Dogwells Parish Council, 1894-1966, Llanfairnantgwyn Parish Council, 1931-1962, Angle Parish Council, 1894-1955, Llanwnda Parish Council, 1899-1987, Llanrhian Parish Council, 1894-1971, St Isselles Parish Council, 1857-1961, St Issells Community Council, 1910-1974, Mathry Parish Council, 1894-1948, Freystrop, Hundleton Parish Council, 1894-1974, Eglwyswen Parish Council, 1894-1987, St Dogmaels Parish Council, 1874-1973, Manorbier Parish Council, 1894-1990, St Florence Community Council, 1894-2003, Steynton Parish Council, 1894-1974, St Nicholas and Granston Parish Council, 1894-1974, Brawdy Parish Council, 1845-1974, Penally Parish Council and Penally Community Council, 1894-1985, Cosheston Parish Council and Cosheston Community Council, 1893-1975, Roch Parish Council, and papers of W. J. Owen of Summerhill, 1867-1924, Burton Parish Council, 1896-1989, Amroth Parish Council and Amroth Community Council, 1844-1992, Whitchurch (Solva) Parish Council and Community Council, 1883-1992, Llantood Parish Council, 1934-1937, Marloes Parish Council, 1894-1973, Spittal Parish Council, 1894-1975, East Williamston Parish Council, 1842-1956, Castlemartin and Warren Parish Council and Castlemartin and Warren Community Council, 1894-1976, North Prendergast Parish Meeting and North Prendergast Community Council, 1974-1989, Walwyns Castle Parish Council and Walwyns Castle Community Council, 1938-1980, Talbenny, Walton West and Haroldston West Parish Council and Community Council, 1894-1984, Havens Community Council, 1894-1989, Fishguard South Parish Council and Fishguard South Community Council, 1907-1982, Haroldston St Issells and St Thomas Parish Council and Community Council, 1951-1974, Moylegrove Parish Council and Community Council, 1894-1987, Dinas Parish Council, 1895-1964, Stackpole Elidor and St Petrox Parish Council and Community Council, 1945-1990, Rhoscrowther and Pwlcrochan Parish Council and Community Council, 1884-1974, Slebech Parish Council, 1894-1974, Martletwy Parish Council and Community Council, 1894-1993, Begelly Parish Council and Begelly Community Council, 1894-1980, Llawhaden Parish Council and Llawhaden Community Council, 1894-1990, St Mary Out Liberty Parish Council and Community Council, 1961-1990, Rosemarket Parish Council and Rosemarket Community Council, 1895-1990, Jeffreyston Parish Council and Jeffreyston Community Council, 1894-1979, Llanddewi Velfrey, Uzmaston and Boulston Community Council, 1894-1998, Narberth North Parish Council, 1900-1954, Redberth, Crunwear Parish Council, 1935-1986, Ludchurch Parish Council and Ludchurch Community Council, 1940-1986, New Moat Parish Council, 1894-1987, Llysyfran Parish Council, 1968-1986, Tiers Cross Community Council, 1974-1995, Bletherston Parish Council, 1894-1963, Templeton Community Council, 1862-1986, Crymych Community Council, 1987-1990, Wiston Community Council, 1894-2001, Letterston Community Council, 1919-2000, Nevern Parish Council, 1894-1964, and Llanstadwell Parish Council, 1894-1974.

Administrative / Biographical History

Civil Parish Councils were established by the Local Government Act 1894, taking over administrative functions from parish council vestry meetings, with powers over rating, public spaces and amenities, cemeteries. Their records contain minute books, financial statements, correspondence, copies of planning applications, and rate lists. Community councils replaced parish councils under local government reorganization in 1974. Hayscastle, St Lawrence and St Edrins became a joint parish council in 1947. W. J. Owen of Summerhill, Roch, was Clerk of the Peace as well as a member of Roch parish council: he also acted as agent for the Liberal Party. Castlemartin Parish Council was re-constituted in 1954, and was enlarged to include Warren in 1971. Haroldston St Issels Parish Council was established in 1950; the hamlet of St Thomas was added in 1964. St Mary Out Liberty Parish Council was formed in 1962. Bletherston Parish Council was grouped with that for Clarbeston in 1963, and in 1987 was incorporated in New Moat Community Council. Eglwyswen continued to hold a parish meeting from 1894 to 1929, when it became a Parish Council.


Arranged alphabetically by parish/community.

Access Information

No restrictions

Acquisition Information

Deposited by the Clerk, Alun Davies, Newport, between 1968 and March 2004.


Compiled by Annette Strauch for the ANW project. The following source was used in the compilation of this description: Pembrokeshire Record Office, Parish/Community Councils, catalogue.

Other Finding Aids

A hard copy of the catalogue is available at Pembrokeshire Record Office.

Conditions Governing Use

Usual copyright regulations apply

Appraisal Information

All records have been retained. The deposited material included large numbers of circulars, reports, consultative papers and similar documents issued to all Councils by County Councils, District Councils, Associations of Local Councils, Health Authorities and similar bodies. To avoid unnecessary duplication, such papers have been removed from the Parish/Community Council records, and complete sets of all of them have been established under the reference of the originating authority.


Accruals are not expected

Related Material

Further papers are Pembrokeshire Record Office, HSPC/35, HDX/467, and HPR/32.

Geographical Names