Scope and Content

Comprising: Out-letter Books 1886-1872 [DYDAW/1]; Valuation Memoranda Books 1882-1980 [DYDAW/2]; Valuation books 1896-1959 [DYDAW/3]; Accounts 1884-1946 [DYDAW/4]; Mineral Owners' Association 1923-1932 [DYDAW/5]; Royal Insurance Co. Agency 1896-1910 [DYDAW/6]; Enclosure and Tithe Awards (Copy) 19-20 cent; 1919-1946 [DYDAW/7]; newspaper cuttings 19th-20th cent [DYDAW/8]; Sales Catalogues 1877-1969 [DYDAW/9].

Clients' Records: Lord Allerton of Allerton 1906-1947 [DYDAW/10]; Barber, Walker: Bentley Estate 1911-1933 [DYDAW/11]; W H Cooke of Wheatley 1825-1956 [DYDAW/12]; Copley of Sprotbrough 1884-1887 [DYDAW/13]; Doncaster Corporation 1906-1933 [DYDAW/14]; Hatfeild of Hatfield 1884-1952 [DYDAW/15]; Hull and Barnsley Railway 1908-1916 [DYDAW/16]; Leatham of Hemsworth 1911-1924 [DYDAW/17]; Internal Drainage Boards 1923-1958 [DYDAW/18]; Ministry of Agriculture 1889-1925 [DYDAW/19]; Tickhill Light Railway 1910-1917 [DYDAW/20]; Warde-Aldam of Frickley late 19 cent-1925 [DYDAW/21]; Doncaster Racecourse, Nobleman's Stand 1848-1959 [DYDAW/22]; Auctioneers and Estate Agents 189 -1932 [DYDAW/23].

Administrative / Biographical History

The business was established by John Dawson at 14 (subsequently 12) St George Gate, Doncaster in 1880s. It was initially known as J. Dawson and then as John Dawson and Sons, E and W Dawson and, by the late 1960s as Dawsons. It then became part of the firm of Corbett, Merryweather and Dawson. On the demolition of its St. George Gate premises, the firm moved to South Parade.

Access Information



Acquisition Information

Acc.992, 1498


Part of the records of Dawson's Estate Agent (Doncaster)

Related Material

Records of the Rotherham office are held by the Archives and Local Studies Section, Central Library, Rotherham S65 1JH