- Financial records, 1875-1972;
- Scroll schedules, 1901-1912;
- Bills of quantity, 1912.
Records of W H Dinsmore and Sons, chartered surveyors, Glasgow, Scotland
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
W H Dinsmore & Sons were established in around 1872 and operated as chartered quantity surveyors in Glasgow. Their offices were at 65 West Regent Street, Glasgow from 1876 until 1880, when they moved to 140 Bath Street. By 1929 they had moved to 102 Bath Street, where they remained until 1992. Partners included Ian Jenkins (1935-1989) and James Gowan (1964-1992). On his retirement in 1992 James Gowan closed the firm down.
Chronological within record series
Conditions Governing Access
Deposit : Mr James McGowan : December 1994 : ACCN 00219
Other Finding Aids
Digital file level list available in searchroom
Alternative Form Available
No known copies
Conditions Governing Use
Applications for permission to quote should be sent to the Archivist.
Reproduction subject to usual conditions: educational use and condition of documents
This material has been appraised in line with standard GB 0248 procedures
With the company before deposit with GUAS.
Location of Originals
This material is original
No known publications using this material
Description compiled in line with the following international standards: International Council on Archives, ISAD(G) Second Edition, September 1999 and National Council on Archives, Rules for the construction of personal, place and corporate names
Fonds level compiled by Vikki Laidlaw, Hub Project Assistant, 28 February 2006. Lower levels converted to Encoded Archival Description by Alma Topen, Senior Assistant Archivist (Cataloguing), 12 April 2013.