Hiraethog Rural District Council, Denbighshire, was formed in 1935 and incorporated parts of the previous Llanrwst and Uwchaled Rural District Councils. It contained the parishes of Cerrigydrudion, Eglwys-bach, Gwytherin, Llanddoged, Llanfihangel Glyn Myfyr, Llangernyw, Llangwm, Llanrwst Rural, Pentrefoelas and Tir Ifan; the Council Offices were located in Llanrwst. The council was composed of 24 councillors and a chairman, elected for three years. They originally took over responsibility for local sanitation from the local sanitary authorities and their responsibilities included sanitary services, sewerage, refuse collection, maintaining local roads, cemeteries, parks, and licensing of public entertainments, water supply and later housing. Rural District Councils were administered by a number of committees and by appointed officers including a Clerk, Treasurer, Public Health Inspector, Housing Officer, Surveyor and Rating Officer. Hiraethog Rural District Council was abolished after local government reorganisation in 1974, being absorbed into the new Colwyn Borough Council, Clwyd, and Aberconwy Borough Council, Gwynedd.
Scope and content: Records of Hiraethog Rural District Council, 1924-1974, comprising Clerk's records, 1924-1974, including council and committee minutes, 1935-1969, indexes to minutes, 1952-1974, correspondence files, 1939-1974, letter books, 1935-1937, and a Register of Tuberculosis Notification, 1924-1950; Treasurer's ledgers, 1935-1967, loans ledgers, 1949-1960, accounts, 1951-1974, and registers, 1952-1974; Rating Officer's records, 1935-1936, 1960-1972; Housing Officer's registers and certificates, 1944-1973; and Engineer's records, 1947-1974, including registers of building control plans, 1948-1974.