Act: Confirming a patent granted to William Tench for erecting a lighthouse on Skerries

Archive Collection

Scope and Content

ACT: Confirming a patent granted to William Tench for erecting a lighthouse on Skerries.

Printed in 1730.

Administrative / Biographical History

In 1714, William Trench, who held the lease of the Skerries was granted a patent by Queen Anne for the building of a light. For a Crown Rent of £5 a year, Trench was given the right to levy dues of one penny per ship and two pence per ton of cargo.

An act of 1730 allowed his son-in-law, Sutton Morgan, to increase the dues charged for shipping and confirmed the patent on the light to Morgan’s heirs forever. Trinity House took over operation of the lighthouse under an enabling act of 1836.

Conditions Governing Access

Dim cyfyngiadau/ No Restrictions

Acquisition Information

Adnau preifat / Private deposit.

Note

Os gwelwch yn dda archebwch y dogfenau gan ddefnyddio y rhif cyfeirnod amgen (lle ddarperidd) / Please order documents using the alternative reference number (where provided)

Other Finding Aids

Hard copies of the catalogue are available at Archifau Ynys Môn / Anglesey Archives and the National Register of Archives. It is the policy of Archifau Ynys Môn / Anglesey Archives to catalogue in the language of the document.

Physical Characteristics and/or Technical Requirements

Cyflwr da / Good condition

Archivist's Note

Compiled by Helen Lewis for Archifau Ynys Môn / Anglesey Archives

Appraisal Information

Mae'r holl gofnodiadau sy'n cydymffurfio â pholisi casglu Swyddfa Gofnodi Cyngor Sir Ynys Môn wedi eu cadw /All records which meet the collection policy of the Anglesey Archives have been retained.

Accruals

Ni ddisgwylir croniadau/Accruals are not expected