Papers relating to John Thomas' research on the Aberpergwm Estate, c. 1951-1960, Other papers relating to John Thomas, 1939-1979, Legal documents from the Aberpergwm Estate, c.1600s-1900, Account papers from the Aberpergwm Estate, 1774-1895, Colliery papers from the Aberpergwm Estate, 1857-1949, Maps and plans from the Estate and the wider area, 1807-1907, Aberpergwm Church Records, 1820-1893 Personal papers from family members, such as Rees Williams, William Williams and Morgan Williams, c. 1700s-c. 1910, Artwork, Music, Poetry, Photographs, c. 1800s-1900s Miscellaneous papers including pamphlets, 1636-1952.
Papers from the Aberpergwm Estate collected by John Thomas of Neath
- For more information, email the repository
- Advice on accessing these materials
- Cite this description
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
The Williams family were an important local Welsh family who could trace their ancestry back to Morgan ap Caradoc ap Iestyn, the 12th century Lord of Nedd-Afan. They resided at the Aberpergwm estate from the end of the 18th century to the beginning of the 19th. Important members include Morgan Williams who was involved in the coal business. In 1889 he was described as a colliery owner instead of the usual 'squire'. He also owned an estimated 3,917 acres in Wales (all in Glamorgan and Brecknockshire) with an estimated rental of £3, 690. Many of the records in this collection relate to him. The last member of the family who lived at the estate was Godfrey Williams. After his departure, the National Coal Board took over the management of the estate before its abandonment. John Thomas was a teacher who happened to be walking by the estate when he came across many of these records being burned in a bonfire. He rescued them and they were later donated to the West Glamorgan Archive Service.
Conditions Governing Access
Other Finding Aids
A hard copy catalogue is available at West Glamorgan Archives.
Conditions Governing Use
Usual copyright regulations apply.
Accruals are unlikely.