Records of the Northampton Electric Light and Power Company Limited,1936-1948

Archive Collection

Scope and Content

The collection comprises:

  • Signed minute book of general and board meetings, December 1936-January 1947 (BEN 1).
  • Signed minute book of board meetings, January 1947-March 1948 (BEN 2).
  • Signed minute book of general meetings, March 1947-March 1948 (BEN 3).

The minute books record the activities, finance and share ownership of the company. Only BEN 1contains significant references to the company's operational activity. This series of minute booksis incomplete. If earlier volumes survive, their location has not been ascertained.

Administrative / Biographical History

The date when the Northampton Electric Light and Power Company Limited started has not beenascertained but its fifty-ninth annual general meeting was held in 1948, suggesting a start date ofabout 1890. The company was closely associated with the Rushden and District Electric Supply CompanyLimited and the Wellingborough Electric Supply Company Limited. In the 1940s, a number of the samedirectors sat on the boards of these companies and meetings were held on the same day in theNorthampton firm's offices at 25 Bridge Street. The company supplied electricity to Northampton, itssurrounding area and to some villages in north Buckinghamshire. The company was nationalised withthe rest of the electric power industry in 1948. Its activities were taken over by the East MidlandsElectricity Board.

Arrangement

The minute books have been sorted chronologically.

Conditions Governing Access

ACCESS: Accessible to all registered readers subject torestrictions concerning personal information.

REPROGRAPHIC: Reprographic copies can be supplied for educational use and private study purposesonly, depending on access status and the condition of the documents.

Other Finding Aids

This description is the only finding aid available for the collection. Copyright in the description belongs to The University of Nottingham.

Conditions Governing Use

COPYRIGHT: Permission to make published use of the collection must be sought in advance inwriting from the Keeper of the Department of Manuscripts and Special Collections (email mss-library@nottingham.ac.uk). The Department willtry to assist in identifying copyright owners but this is often difficult and the responsibility forcopyright clearance before publication ultimately rests with the person wishing to publish.

LANGUAGE: English

Custodial History

The fate of the bulk of the company's archive is not known. The present collection consists onlyof minute books, which survived amongst the records of the East Midlands Electricity Board, and wasgiven to The University of Nottingham's Department of Manuscripts and Special Collections in April2000 by PowerGen.