The bulk of the records in this incomplete survival of the Society's Nottingham District archives concern financial expenditure, in cash books, levy books and benefit books. Minutes from 1931 to 1952 are also present. A benefit book (1920-1949) of the Amalgamated Society of Carpenters, Cabinetmakers and Joiners survives.
Records of the Amalgamated Society of Woodworkers, Nottingham District, 1920-1953
- This material is held at
- ReferenceGB 159 Wo
- Dates of Creation1920-1953
- Language of MaterialEnglish.
- Physical Description2 boxes
- Direct Link
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
The Amalgamated Society of Woodworkers was formed in 1921 when the General Union of Carpenters merged with the Amalgamated Society of Carpenters, Cabinetmakers and Joiners. It continued until 1970, when it merged with the Amalgamated Society of Painters and Decorators under the new name of the Amalgamated Society of Woodworkers and Decorators.
Further changes came later in 1970, when the Society was joined by the Association of Building Technicians and, finally, in 1971 when the Amalgamated Society of Woodworkers and Decorators combined with the Amalgamated Union of Building Trade Workers to form the Union of Construction, Allied Trades and Technicians.
Arranged chronologically within series.
Conditions Governing Access
ACCESS: Accessible to all registered readers.
REPROGRAPHIC: Photocopies and photographic copies can be supplied for educational use and private study purposes only, depending on the condition of the documents.
Other Finding Aids
NOTE: Copyright on all Finding Aids belongs to the University of Nottingham.
- In the Reading Room, University of Nottingham Library: Typescript Catalogue, 2 pp
- At the National Register of Archives, London: Typescript Catalogue, 2 pp
- National records for the Amalgamated Society of Woodworkers are at Warwick University Modern Records Centre, where they are listed as part of the Union of Construction, Allied Trades and Technicians (MSS 78/ASW).
Conditions Governing Use
COPYRIGHT: Identification of copyright holders of unpublished material is often difficult. Permission to make any published use of any material from the collection must be sought in advance in writing from the Keeper of the Department of Manuscripts and Special Collections (email firstname.lastname@example.org ). The Department will try to assist in identifying copyright owners but the responsibility for copyright clearance before publication ultimately rests with the reader.
The Nottingham District records were transferred to the University of Nottingham by the Society in 1960.